Adam Owners Club banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm new to this forum and hoping that you might be able to provide me with some guidance.

My wife had her drivers side wing mirror battered by another car and they have smashed the housing (both the black and the colour matched). Miraculously the internals (glass and motor) have survived. I've ordered replacement parts directly from Vauxhall which come upsprayed (for the colour matched bit). I've done a home spray job on it and it looks okay and I'm now ready to swap over the units.

A quick inspection of the car makes it look like I need to remove both the door card and the upper trim to get to the bolts and wiring plugs that hold, and wire in, the mirror. Has anyone done this job before? If so could they give some guidance as to the steps in the procedure. I've never done anything on an Adam before and am more familiar with kit cars (much less trim!).

Do I need to disconnect the battery to make sure that I don't set off the air bags accidentally?

Normally I'd buy the service/mechanics manual that details the full process the dealer garage would take but I can't find it anywhere online...if anyone can point me to this I'd be very grateful too!

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Tim

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi Tim,

Just had exactly the same thing happen to me - sorry I can't help with "how to" but did you manage to replace the unit yourself in the end?

Are you able to share whether you needed to remove the door card and upper trim to access or is there another way? Any tips?

Grateful for any advice.

Lizzie

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Lizzie,

Sorry to hear about your wing mirror... it's so frustrating!